Little Ealing Primary School
Engage, enrich, excel.

KindnessBeing happy, compassionate and supportive

RespectBeing courteous, understanding and tolerant

ResponsibilityFor oneself, for each other and for the community

HonestyBeing truthful, fair and humble

GratitudeBeing grateful, gracious and mindful


The Role of the Governing Body:

Governors help direct the school's future by feeding into the school's development plan and looking forward strategically to how the school should be improving. They act as a 'critical friend', challenging and supporting the management team. They are also accountable for monitoring the school's progress against development aims, ensuring strong financial control against the budget and ensuring statutory requirements are met. Governors are not involved with the day-to-day running of the school, which is the responsibility of the Head and the School Leadership Team.


Little Ealing Governors:

The Full Governing Body of 13 people meets at least once termly and delegates some responsibilities to committees and working groups. Currently at Little Ealing there are 2 committees - Teaching and Learning & Resources (which includes premises, personnel and finance).

There are four categories of Governor:

  • Parent Governors (voted in by the parents and carers)
  • Co-opted Governors (appointed by the Governing Body for their expertise and knowledge of the needs of the community)
  • Staff Governors (voted in by members of the school staff)
  • Local Authority Governors (nominated by the Local Authority and appointed by the Governing Body).

All governors are unpaid volunteers, who give their time and enthusiasm freely, and at Little Ealing many of them have children at the school.


Governing Body Meetings:

Observers may attend Full Governing Body Meetings upon request, and should give notice to the Clerk via the school that they would like to come or by email


Minutes of committee and Full Governing Body meetings are available on this website.


Should a parent wish to contact the Chair of Governors please do so in writing, care of the school, or via the email above.


Governing Body Membership:

Shirley Kenworthy-Wright (Chair of Governors/Local Authority Governor)

Simi Wang (Vice Chair of Governors)

Jacqueline Job (Co-opted Governor)

Louise Burgess (Co-opted Governor)

Katie Stone (Parent Governor)
Jaishree Vyavaharkar (Parent Governor)

Alex Vines (Co-opted Governor)

Resham Baruah (Parent Governor)

Andrew Wood (Parent Governor)

Nazia Dar (Staff Governor)

Caroline Hodges (Headteacher, Staff Governor)